When crafted with evergreen content, campaigns and email sequences are highly effective in nurturing prospects into leads and customers. Campaigns require a one-time setup that will continually run for prospects who subscribe today or a year from now.

Let’s take a look at what happens when you add an email to a campaign or workflow, whether it’s in the beginning, in the middle or at the end. Who receives the new email?

Here are two scenarios for campaigns:

  1. You just added an email set to send second in your campaign’s sequence. One of your subscribers just received the third email in your campaign. Because this subscriber has already received the second email in the campaign, they won’t receive the email you just added.
  2. A subscriber reaches the end of a campaign. Two weeks later, you add a new email to the end of the campaign. The subscriber will receive the email you just added, because they’re by default still receiving emails as they’re added to the campaign. Any email you add at the end of the campaign will be delivered to that campaign’s subscribers, even if they have received the existing emails.
It’s important to note that Drip’s email scheduler runs every 4 hours. It’s designed to swoop up, and send any new emails you might have added to one of your campaigns in the last 4 hours. It’s also important to point out that even if you set the newly added campaign email to go out immediately, it’s likely that might not be the case. You should always give yourself a 4-hour window when adding a new email campaign if sending time is crucial.

Automatically remove a subscriber upon completion of a campaign

If you want to remove a subscriber from a campaign so they won’t receive any new emails you add, you should set up an automation rule to perform this action.

  1. In Automation, create a new rule. Choose the Completed a campaign trigger and select the campaign you want to modify.
  2. Choose the Remove from a campaign action. When you remove the subscriber, you’ll need to add her to a different campaign.

 

Workflows work a bit differently in terms of adding content once they already have subscribers moving through them. Best practice encourages you to plan ahead and setup your workflow fully before turning it on, but here is what to do if you need to add steps.

Workflows work in much the same way as campaigns, in that the scheduler still runs every 4 hours, but you also have to worry about where users are currently within a workflow. You can add a new step in a workflow at any point in the workflow, but some users who have that as their next step may become “stuck” at that point.

A workaround for those stuck subscribers is to add a goal above the new step you want to execute for a specific tag to be applied, something like “Force-Movement” which would look like this:

You can then manually apply this tag “Force_Movement” tag to your subscribers or add it via a bulk operation in order to move them past this point, and once completed, delete this goal. All future subscribers will move through normally without this tag, but it will prevent your current users from getting stuck when adding a new element to an existing workflow.