When crafted with evergreen content, campaigns and email sequences are highly effective in nurturing prospects into leads and customers. Campaigns require a one-time setup that will continually run for prospects who subscribe today or a year from now.

Let’s take a look at what happens when you add an email to a campaign, whether it’s in the beginning of a campaign, in the middle or at the end. Who receives the new email?

Here are two scenarios:

  1. You just added an email set to send second in your campaign’s sequence. One of your subscribers just received the third email in your campaign. Because this subscriber has already received the second email in the campaign, they won’t receive the email you just added.
  2. A subscriber reaches the end of a campaign. Two weeks later, you add a new email to the end of the campaign. The subscriber will receive the email you just added, because they’re by default still receiving emails as they’re added to the campaign. Any email you add at the end of the campaign will be delivered to that campaign’s subscribers, even if they have received the existing emails.

Automatically remove a subscriber upon completion of a campaign

If you want to remove a subscriber from a campaign so they won’t receive any new emails you add, you should set up an automation rule to perform this action.

  1. In Automation, create a new rule. Choose the Completed a campaign trigger and select the campaign you want to modify.
  2. Choose the Remove from a campaign action. When you remove the subscriber, you’ll need to add her to a different campaign.

Remove subscriber from campaign